The best way to avoid a DUI conviction is to monitor your behavior so you are not arrested in the first place. If you are arrested, the best thing you can do is politely decline to answer any questions and request to speak to your attorney at Palmore, Boenig & Associates; attorneys experienced in DUI law.
Because you have only Ten (10) business days from the date of your arrest to defend your right to drive, do not delay. Call Palmore, Boenig & Associates now to schedule a free private consultation.
Our attorneys have experience on both sides of the DUI issue. As a former DUI prosecutor, Markus Boenig is intimately familiar with the law and how local prosecutors are applying it. As a former Public Defender, Malcolm Palmore has the experience needed to navigate the legal process and achieve the best results for your individual situation. They know the details and the inside issues of these charges as well as the evidence needed for a conviction. They will take your case seriously, defend you, and help maintain your driving rights and freedom.
A charge of Underage DUI can have serious consequences for young people. Aside from the criminal penalties, UGA students and those attending other colleges may have the added problems associated with dealing with the academic judicial process at their institutions. Our attorneys are experienced with both the criminal and academic process and can help you maneuver through the labyrinth of procedures ahead.
If you are under 21 years old and are charged with DUI your driver’s license may be in jeopardy. A blood alcohol level of only .02 is necessary for a conviction while a level greater than .08 may result in a license suspension of one year. Currently there are no limited driving permits available for underage drivers. You need an attorney who understands and appreciates the severity of the charges against you and is willing to help tackle the tough decisions ahead.
A DUI charge can have real and devastating affect not only on a personal level but also on your career. Under Georgia law, a first time conviction can result in up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, if you have a blood alcohol content of .08 or greater or if you refuse to take the breath test, your driver’s license could be suspended. You have a limited time (10 days) after arrest to preserve your driving privileges. Our attorneys will apply for a hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services (DDS) and can usually keep your driver’s license operational while your case is pending. Further, at this DDS hearing we can question the arresting officer about the facts of your case. This provides valuable information before we ever set foot in the courtroom.
Repeat and Felony DUI
A second DUI charge can be classified as “High and Aggravated” which can have added penalties such as mandatory jail time and longer license suspensions.
A third DUI arrest within a five year period can be classified as a felony with a mandatory 120 day jail sentence along with increased fines and other penalties.
Our attorneys will investigate, analyze and advocate for you to seek the best resolution for your case. They are as committed to preserving your rights as you are. It is extremely important to have the right attorneys sitting beside you at trial. You need attorneys who have extensive trial experience, understand how to file the right motions, select a jury, do thorough and sifting cross examinations and make compelling closing arguments. Make sure the attorney you select is knowledgeable about all of these aspects of your case.
We also represent clients on Boating Under the Influence, Driving with License Suspended, and Hit and Run Offenses.
If you have been charged with DUI, you need an attorney who not only has extensive experience in the court system but who also has multiple resources and a variety of defense strategies to use in your case. Do not appear in court without an experienced legal professional by your side. Contact the law firm of Palmore, Boenig & Associates and let them use their skills and experience to help you clear your name!
DUI Penalties in Athens, GA
Under Georgia law, it’s is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reaches .08% or more. If you are under the age of 21, you cannot drive with a BAC of .02% or higher. If a police officer discovers that you are driving with a BAC level above the legal limit, he or she will immediately arrest you on DUI charges.
For this reason, it’s crucial to contact a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. If you are found guilty of DUI, you will be sentenced to a multitude of adverse penalties. Common penalties for a first-time DUI conviction include:
· At least 24 hours but no more than 1 year in jail
· $300 – $1,000 in fines, plus surcharges
· 12 months of probation
· 40 hours of community service
· Suspended driver’s license for 1 year
· DUI school
A judge can elect to enhance all of these penalties and impose additional penalties if the following is true:
· You committed a prior DUI offense
· You caused an accident that lead to serious injury, property damage, or death
· A minor child was in the vehicle when you were arrested
· You were driving without a license or on a suspended license
· Your BAC (blood alcohol level) was .15% or higher
Palmore, Boenig & Associates, PC
24 hour answering service
Free initial consultation